Testimonials

Feel free to leave a testimonial!

  • Unbelievably nice and well kept up

    Reviewed by Robert in August 2016
    We stayed here for a bachelor weekend retreat and enjoyed the cabin thoroughly. We highly recommend this location as it is clean, comfortable and great for a retreat.
  • Wonderfully situated in the Finger Lakes

    Reviewed by the Klein family in August 2016
    We have enjoyed both of our visits to Cobtree. We love the cabins and you are wonderfully situated in the Finger Lakes Region.
  • A Quiet retreat

    Reviewed December 10th, 2014
    My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes in November 2014. We brought our 2 English Springer Spaniels dogs with us who were welcomed by Cobtree. We stayed in the Hemlock log cabin which was perfectly located in front of one of the hiking trails. The dogs were in their glory as they ran the hiking trails every chance they got. They actually flushed a ruffed grouse in the woods behind the cabin on the first day so the dogs were hooked the rest of the week. We enjoyed the peace and quiet as well as the view of Lake Seneca from our porch. The beds at Cobtree were comfortable, the kitchen fully equipped, washer & dryer in the bathroom, great water pressure in the bathroom, heat worked perfectly, grounds were immaculate, great location with plenty to do from hiking, hunting, wine tasting (numerous wineries), fantastic state parks abound etc. Our cabin was clean & ready for us upon our arrival complete with detergent, soap, toilet paper, paper towels etc… however, the website explains that the cabins are self catering so bring some extra or just go to the local Walmart which is only 4 miles away to pick up whatever items you need. Definitely rekindled our desire to purchase a log home on a lake somewhere. My husband and I could not have been happier with the accommodation & location and the 5 hour trip to Cobtree certainly beats the 13 hour trip to the North Maine Woods. On our ride home and several times since our return home my husband has hinted about making a reservation for next year. So we hope to return next year in the fall.
    Stayed November 2014.
    View testimonial source
  • Beautiful, bright and extremely comfortable!

    Reviewed by Kelly in December 2015
    My husband and I stayed at the Honeoye cabin this past weekend for the Deck the Halls event and were overwhelmingly pleased!! We have stayed at other places on Seneca Lake for years and Cobtree is by far the best!!! The place is very bright and Rustic. Beautiful inside. Wish we would have known about these accommodations sooner!!! Jane was extremely helpful and kind!! The cabin had every amenity and was extremely comfortable. The beds were outstanding! Excellent shower head/flow. We will only be staying at Cobtree in the future!!
  • You don’t need to stay anywhere else!

    Reviewed by Amy in October 2015
    The cabin is clean, the bed is comfortable, everything you need is available to cook/wash clothes/relax. The location and grounds are immaculate. AND it is pet friendly. You don’t need to stay anywhere else.
  • Perfect cabin!!

    Review in October 2015
    Perfect cabin for a girls weekend! Quiet setting but convenient to all the local wineries. Excellent communications with the owner. Cabin had all the necessary supplies needed – just bring your personal toiletries!
  • Perfect lodging during wedding!

    Review in October 2015
    We rented this cabin during my daughter’s wedding in Geneva. We needed some extra space for the wedding stuff and that would not have been possible at the hotel where the wedding was. These cabins are about 5 miles away from the Ramada hotel on the lake. So the drive is not too far. Everything like supermarket, Walmart etc is a few miles away is nearby from the cabins. Excellent lodgings, there was wifi, TV, full kitchen with pots and pans, dishes and even a dishwasher, clothes washer and dryer. Beds were very nice. The view to the lake was pretty nice although a little ways off. These cabins are suitable for all year round weather.
  • Very homey place and comfortable!

    Reviewed by Kurt in September 2015
    Overall very nice–very homey place and comfortable… pet friendly but very clean… fireplace was nice on a rainy Saturday… location was great… beds a bit hard for our taste… Cobtree made the whole check in process really easy…
  • It is so beautiful here it makes me want to cry!

    Kamala arrived at Cobtree for the first time in September 2015 and she called Jane to say “It is so beautiful here it makes me want to cry…..”
  • Great Cabin!

    Reviewed by Jeanne and Jeff in September 2015
    Thank you Jane and Robert for a very peaceful stay in your cabin it was our first time visiting the Finger Lake area the cabin was very nice had everything we needed even grilled out a couple times enjoyed the view also we rented a pontoon boat on Seneca lake hit some wineries and even did the gorge walk at Watkins Glen cobblestone restaurant was a good place to eat.we will definetly be back and would love to stay at cobtree again. Thank you.
  • Wonderful cabin for large group with spectacular view!

    Reviewed by Jim in August 2015
    We stayed at the Canandaigua cabin by Cobbtree on Seneca Lake. The log cabin was spacious and very nice. The view of the lake from the front porch was spectacular. We would definitely stay here again. Loved it.
  • Perfect!

    Review in August 2015
    My family had a wonderful time at the Honeye cabin. We were pleasantly surprised at how clean, manicured, comfortable and relaxing this cabin was. The hiking paths were perfect to walk our dog, and coffee on the porch in the morning was a lovely treat. We met Muriel and she is a treasure, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Highly recommended and we will be back!
  • Complete and absolute relaxation of mind, body and soul

    Reviewed by Reena in July 2015
    We (my husband, kids, our dogs and me) stayed at Honeyoye for a total of 4 nights in July 2015 and loved every minute of our stay. The cabin was very clean, neat and tidy and fully equipped with all amenities.
    Loved the peace and the beautiful surroundings – natural beauty at it’s best.
    Look forward to visiting again.
  • We had a wonderful time!

    Reviewed 26th May 2015
    We had a wonderful time ! The cabin was beautiful everything we needed was there for us. We will be back for sure!!! Lori.

    Stayed in May 2015.
  • What a great, relaxing way to visit the area!

    Reviewed 19th April 2015
    I have been staying at Cobtree for over 3 years now (my son is a HWS student). It is lovely to come home at the end of a busy day, relax on the couch, do your laundry, take a walk, watch tv, whatever, but be in a home environment. The kitchen is complete, the house is clean and comfortable, and the amenities are just what we need for a few days stay. A hotel will be cheaper, but there is so much more to Cobtree. Nothing beats hanging around a kitchen table as a family as opposed to sitting in the lounge area of a hotel. You can make a family meal and just relax. It is wonderful. On top of all of that, the views are spectacular.
    View testimonial source
  • Phenomenal hideaway in the Finger Lakes

    Reviewed March 6th, 2015
    Can’t wait to go back to Cobtree. Thank you. Stephen

    Stayed in February 2015
  • One of the best places we have ever stayed

    Reviewed January 20th, 2015
    Hello Jane, I wanted to send a note and tell you how much we enjoyed weekend stay at Cobtree – it was wonderful. One of the best places we have ever stayed. My husband liked it and enjoyed the weekend so much he wants me to a book a stay again for next year at the same time – is that something I can do now or can you give me the best time to do that? The log home was great – so nice and clean – it felt like home right away. Our dog Fancy was in heaven with all the trails – we never saw any deer but I know she smelled them for sure. We were sorry we missed meeting Chekco – he looks very very handsome. We did manage to make 9 wineries as part of the Pasta and Wine Weekend event but want to come back for more next year. Everything was great – thank you very much. Mary

    Stayed in January 2015
  • A Quiet retreat

    Reviewed December 10th, 2014
    My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes in November 2014. We brought our 2 English Springer Spaniels dogs with us who were welcomed by Cobtree. We stayed in the Hemlock log cabin which was perfectly located in front of one of the hiking trails. The dogs were in their glory as they ran the hiking trails every chance they got. They actually flushed a ruffed grouse in the woods behind the cabin on the first day so the dogs were hooked the rest of the week. We enjoyed the peace and quiet as well as the view of Lake Seneca from our porch. The beds at Cobtree were comfortable, the kitchen fully equipped, washer & dryer in the bathroom, great water pressure in the bathroom, heat worked perfectly, grounds were immaculate, great location with plenty to do from hiking, hunting, wine tasting (numerous wineries), fantastic state parks abound etc. Our cabin was clean & ready for us upon our arrival complete with detergent, soap, toilet paper, paper towels etc… however, the website explains that the cabins are self catering so bring some extra or just go to the local Walmart which is only 4 miles away to pick up whatever items you need. Definitely rekindled our desire to purchase a log home on a lake somewhere. My husband and I could not have been happier with the accommodation & location and the 5 hour trip to Cobtree certainly beats the 13 hour trip to the North Maine Woods. On our ride home and several times since our return home my husband has hinted about making a reservation for next year. So we hope to return next year in the fall.

    Stayed November 2014.
    View testimonial source
  • Spectacular Views

    Reviewed December 6th, 2014
    …We truly loved the house and the views, my cousin and I stood in the kitchen for about 2 hours just talking about the views. He lives in Ontario, NY….We will be back next year for my daughter’s graduation and will rent from you again. The views were spectacular…
  • Wonderful location. Great views of lake Seneca

    Reviewed November 3th, 2014
    Great service. Wonderful location. Great views of lake Seneca ! Couldn’t have been happier with our stay, the location was great. Quiet but close to town if you need anything. Great for a weekend get away or a family vacation . We will be a returning for another stay !!

    Stayed October 2014.
    View testimonial source
  • One of the best vacations at Cobtree

    Reviewed September 29th, 2014
    Hi Jane, I wanted to write and thank you. We returned on Friday from spending one of the best vacations we have had in years. The whole intent was to do very little and try to relax as much as possible. We arrived on Sunday evening and the minute we walked in the door we knew we had made the right choice. The cabin was exactly as portrayed on your website, clean, cozy and perfect for us and our dog. The brick houses made me feel like I was back home in England, the whole estate was wonderful and our dog was in heaven with all the open space and the woods to walk in. We saw foxes, deer and enjoyed the sunrise and sunsets over the lake.

    While we were there a couple came to look around the cabin next door. They had rented a cabin right on the lake in Geneva and was disgusted with it. We showed them inside our cabin and they were thrilled with it and we’re going to book for next fall. They were from Hartford, CT. Once again, we had made the right choice.Your cleaning lady, Muriel, was wonderful, our dog and Cali ran around together for hours while she was working.We will definitely be back next year, and hopefully for a longer period, I will make sure to book early enough.Thank you again, I hope the winter is not too bad for you up there and hopefully we will get to meet you next year.

    Stayed September 2014, traveled with family.
  • A little slice of heaven

    Reviewed February 25, 2013
    I had the opportunity to experience this resort as a result of an invitation by a friend of mine who was staying there. The Cayuga cottage easily sleeps 6 people with a nice community area for gathering in the evening for games, reading, sitting by the fireplace, watching TV or just hanging out. The property offers on site washer/dryer if needed and a wonderful view. The gas fireplace kept the place nice and toasty considering it was blustery cold outside. Although I never met the owners, it’s apparant that they keep on top of everything. Several more cottages are under construction at the moment.
    Lovely spot to stay and split the cost with some friends. Ample room to cook and a full sized fridge to store everything. They’ve thought of everything!!!

    Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
  • Great Cabin

    Reviewed March 14, 2013
    We had the Honeoye cabin it is great, we really enjoyed our stay and looking forward to go back agian the cabin has all of the amenities you can ask for. Pretty good view of the lake also. But the best part is it is close to the wineries and Geneva.There are plenty of Restaurants near the area.

    Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    View testimonial source
  • Great place to stay!

    Reviewed August 12, 2013
    We were visiting the finger lake region from the UK for a week and decided to book the Honeyoe Cabin. Cobtree was a wonderful place to stay. The cabin had everything we could have hoped for and more. The proch was a wonderful place to gather the family for a BBQ! Its a great central location to Geneva for supermarkets and good places to eat.

    The bedrooms were spotless, and the washing facilities were a great bonus! I could not have asked for anything else in the cabins. The only thing missing was a pool, which would have been great in the heat, but the lake suited us fine!

    It was a great base to explore from. There were plenty of leaflets in the cabin and with the help of the wi-fi which was an added bonus, we have a great holiday! We explored Geneva, Seneca Falls, Watkins Glen, took a trip down to Ithaca and had a great day at the near by water park!

    It was very hot when we visited, but with the State Park so close (around 5 miles max), we had no trouble cooling down in the splash zone and the lake.

    It is worth noting that the swimming zone at the lake is not always open, but the splash zone seemed to be!

    Overall, a wonderful place to stay!

    Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    View testimonial source
  • I loved the property. It’s also beautifully located

    Reviewed in August 2013
    ....We had a wonderful time while we were there, and loved the property. It’s also beautifully located – while I went out for a morning ride around Canandaigua Lake (Quite hilly, not for the faint of heart!), my partner rode down to the lake for a swim and into Geneva for a relaxed breakfast.

    In the excitement of the wedding we managed to lock ourselves out of cottage; the owners’ son was preparing a bonfire for other guests nearby, and let us in before we had thought to call them. Finally, I managed to leave my suit behind when we left; the owners were very helpful, found it, and UPS’d it back to me. I would love to return!
    View testimonial source
  • Extremely clean and well maintained

    Reviewed in September 2013
    We could not have been more pleased with the property. It was extremely clean and well maintained. The kitchens were well stocked for us to cook meals Friday and Saturday night for our entire group. The property is located close to a good number of Wineries as well as Geneva. I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone who is looking for a place to stay with a group of friends.
    View testimonial source
  • We would not stay anywhere else!

    Reviewed in September 2013
    We were very, very happy with our stay at Cobtree. We were up for parents weekend at HWS and, up to this point, had stayed in local hotels which are dismal at best. At Cobtree, we stayed in the Seneca House. From the moment we stepped in the door, we were amazed — the place was so clean — and I am picky about clean! The view was amazing. I was so happy we could bring our lab. She is old but seemed reinvigorated by the property — and the other dogs on site. It was perfect for the weekend with our son.

    The second day I was there, I locked myself out accidentally while walking my dog. I called a number on the emergency contact sheet which luckily was posted on the door (rather than in a folder inside or on the fridge!). I had a response immediately and, as promised, within 5 minutes, someone was at the door to unlock it. As it turns out, it was the owner. She was not at all perturbed that I called. (Truth be told, there is no need to lock the door. It is a very safe place.).

    The next day, I was out with the dog again and saw her. She was picking plums and apples from the fruit trees. She mentioned that there was a larger plum tree near our house. She gave me 2 beautiful plums which were so juicy! To make a long story short, I came home with enough to make plum jam. The owner could not have been nice nor more accommodating.

    Why else would we stay anywhere else?
    View testimonial source
  • Cottage life!

    Reviewed October 3, 2013
    If you have kids and haven’t tried staying at a cottage instead of in a hotel, you’re missing out. What a convenient and relaxing way to travel. Room to spread out. Everyone has their own bedroom. No worries about disturbing other guests or other guests disturbing you. And you have the ability to prepare meals — if only a good breakfast to start your day.

    Cobtree is spectacular. We stayed in Canadice (much larger than we required!) High speed internet, flat-screen TV, FULLY stocked kitchen. The cottage was very clean. The beds were comfortable — and it’s super quiet at night. Each cottage has a barbecue and a lovely porch to picnic on! It was quite warm when we stayed there, so the air conditioning was much appreciated.

    There is quick and easy access to Lake Seneca, a short 5 minute drive away. We toured around the entire lake, stopping at wineries, waterfalls (one with a swimming hole), an ice cream shop and the Waterloo Premium Outlets Mall! There is also a marina nearby for watercraft rentals.

    Beautiful place. We hope to go back someday!

    “This would be an amazing cottage for a couple of families travelling together, offering sleeping accommodations for up to 12 people.” (LeslieandDave)
    View testimonial source
  • Excellent choice for a large group rental

    Reviewed in October 2013
    Excellent choice for a rental for a large group get-together. We had 12 women in the Canadice Home rental for a weekend and the house was a perfect size for our gathering. The beds were extremely comfortable, the kitchen was well equipped, the living room was spacious, but cozy, and the entire house was very clean and had updated furnishings. The property had beautiful views and was conviently close to the town of Geneva and a good number of wineries that the area offers. The management team of Robert and Jane Lawty were always accessible & accommodating either by telephone or email. Wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely stay at Cobtree Vacation Homes Resort again if we get a chance to go back to that area of the Finger Lakes.
    View testimonial source
  • Our perfect wedding weekend!

    Reviewed October 2013
    Our wedding party rented the Canadaigua and Honeyoe log cabins for two nights in October over our wedding weekend. The setting is beautiful: peaceful grounds on a quiet hill overlooking Seneca Lake. The property has a nice secluded feeling but is an easy 10 minutes from the conveniences of “downtown” Geneva (grocery stores, etc). The log cabins had an awesome rustic atmosphere and were perfect for our group. They include all of the amenities you need, making it so much more convenient than a regular house rental from a private owner, and it was more economical and spacious than hotel rooms. We did not get to meet the owners, but they were great to work with over the phone, and other guests we chatted with during our visit were repeat customers, so that says a lot about the quality of the location. There was an amazing sunrise on the morning of our wedding and I knew we were going to have the most wonderful wedding, and we did!!
    View testimonial source
  • Wonderful stay at Cobtree

    CharleneNicholson, PA
    We had a wonderful weekend at Cobtree. This is our second stay in one of the cabins. We love that it fits all of our needs. We like that the kitchen has everything that we need. We love renting the house since usually there are four of us and this time there was six. It beats staying in a hotel and not all being together. The cabins have always been clean and the grounds are well kept. We will probably stay there again.
    Reviewed December 2011
  • We had a great time!

    Kellie Lewis
    Otisco cabin was set up perfectly for our group of 6 and we even squeezed in 2 more on the second night. The open kitchen, eating and living area was perfect for everyone to congratulate while cooking, drinking and playing games. But there was also the bedrooms for everyone to have their own space. I brought a lot of kitchen supplies with us not knowing what to expect and I couldn’t have been more wrong. Anything we could have possibly needed was there. It was extremely clean and the grounds and the views of the lake are terrific. I never thought I’d like the group setting but I was definitely sold and we will stay here again! Thanks Robert and Jane for providing such a great place.
  • We can’t wait for the next one!

    This was our second time staying at the cabin. The photos and descriptions on the website are completely accurate. The property was clean,with a fully stocked kitchen.Free Wi Fi and free use of the land line phone was very useful considering that cellphone reception was spotty at best. A washer and dryer in the cabin made life A LOT easier! Besides all the wineries nearby, our family was able to enjoy hiking to waterfalls, biking on lake trails, kayaking,horseback riding, and blueberry picking! The owners Robert and Jane live on the property and are a wealth of information. As a whole,the entire stay was very reasonably priced. Highly recommended.
  • The cottage accommodated us perfectly!

    We recently stayed at the Cayuga Cottage with my family and we had a great time! In our party we had six adults (my parents, sister/husband, and myself/husband) and two kids (5 and 3 years old). The cottage accommodated us perfectly and it was very comfortable with all the necessary amenities provided, including a BBQ. The kids loved sitting outside on the deck in the morning enjoying the beautiful lake view and coloring or playing and also enjoyed the small playground that was just across our cottage. The location is also very convenient -it’s close to grocery stores, winery tours, Tim Horton’s (for us Canadians), Geneva town, and major attractions (we went hiking in Watkins Glen State Park…stunning!). There is also the Seneca State Park within 10 minutes away with a outdoor splash park, playground and a beach. Lot’s of things to do and see for all ages. The cottage was very clean and well maintained. We also met Rob the owner, who is extremely friendly and helpful. They also have a beautiful dog, Cheeko, that our kids enjoyed a lot! This was our second time at the cottage and we are hoping to be back next year and this time stay for a bit longer! It was only a 4 hour drive from Toronto, Canada for us and a perfect get away with the family!!!

    Room Tip: We have stayed at the Keuka and now the Cayuga — they are both equally nice, however, Cayuga had a better view of the lake!
  • I was so pleased with Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes

    Nancy West
    We just got back from a family vacation to the Finger Lake Area. I was so pleased with Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes. With four adults a toddler and two dogs it was the perfect place to stay. It’s centrally located for short day trips to many of the lakes, wineries and waterfalls. The dogs had plenty of room to run around. The accommodations were great. The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked with appliances and we loved the deck with the spectacular view.
  • Gorgeous lake views and fully equipped

    Reviewed by Jessica Hoffman in April 2016
    We've stayed in Seneca Cottage twice so far in the last few months and we absolutely love it!!! Gorgeous lake views, fully equipped with everything you might need, and the price can't be beat! We will definitely be staying here during future trips!
    View testimonial source
  • Best place to stay in the finger lakes

    Reviewd by Victor Brozusky in August 2016
    Best place to stay in the finger lakes. We have been renting 4 cabins for the last 4 years with a group of 25 or so people in mid September. Great place for a large group. Looking forward to next month.
    View testimonial source
  • A beautifully updated getaway

    Reviewed by Jennifer Heineman in September 2013
    I wanted to thank you dearly for having us Jane, I have never stayed in such a beautifully updated getaway such as Cobtree! I took some brochures to share with my faculty at school, and friends. I intend to be back again soon, as I hear you are open all year round! I honestly was sad to leave, but I took time to clean up and take every last second in...as it flew by so fast....I would love to have my Mom join me next time... and she would enjoy the peace and tranquility of Cobtree!
  • Perfect for sunrise, tai chi & coffee

    Reviewed by PegS1957 on Jul 24, 2016
    We found the Cayuga very very clean, well-equipped and comfortable. Great location for Finger Lakes wine tours and just hanging out visiting. We had a view of Seneca out back that was perfect for sunrise tai chi & coffee. Lovely place that we would definitely visit again if we return to the area.

  • Perfect Property!

    Reviewed by JLJA2013 on June 5th 2016
    Just returned from my second stay at this property. Last year, eight of us and two dogs rented the Seneca Cottage over Memorial weekend. We cooked out in the evening and played games after a day of touring the wineries. It was SO much fun; like camping, but with all the modern amenities. This year, my niece and I wanted to attend the Rose Soiree event in Geneva, but could only be away one night. The owner, Jane, put us on a waiting list to be called if property was still available when it got closer. She called that we could have the very large and beautiful Canandaigua cabin. Cabin is an understatement! This is a huge three floor property nicely furnished that sleeps 12 with outside basketball court and other activities. Both sites also have very comfortable beds and nice linens. The Cobtree resort is pretty new, and the owners have taken great care to stock each property with everything you would need except your own food. Every dish and utensil imaginable is there. This morning I even noticed a box of birthday candles in the drawer. The price is very reasonable for the area, and an even greater bargain when you get past the first four guests; then there is only a small add-on for each additional individual. Arrival is super easy with a locked box system where you can let yourself in. I did not see the groundskeeper, Muriel, this year. But last year she was very helpful when we had some difficulties with a quirky grill. She is always a phone call away. This is the perfect spot for family get-togethers especially if you are in the area for a wedding. Do check it out and support private ownership!
    View testimonial source
  • Perfect!

    Reviewed by jlhoffman2006 on Mar 24, 2016
    House was perfect and had everything we needed for a wonderful stay! Gorgeous view of the lake, especially at sunrise, and the wine trail was awesome!!! This was our second stay at this house...We will definitely be back again!
    View testimonial source
  • Amazing!

    Reviewed by Joshua Verdehem on 28th December 2016
    Amazing housing and service!
  • Very accommodating staff

    Reviewed by Dan in June 2016
    Very accommodating staff
  • Absolutely beautiful with breathtaking views

    Reviewed by Donna and Bruce in April 2017
    The cabin is absolutely beautiful with breathtaking views. We really enjoyed our stay here. We want to come again in the future.
  • Comfortable and clean

    Reviewed by Dave Wolf in April 2017
    We stayed overnight in one of the cabins. It was comfortable and clean.